Tag Archives: Awards

Burruss Elementary Students Win District Reading Bowl, Head to Regional Competition


Students from eight elementary schools competed in the annual Marietta City Schools Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl, January 18 at the Marietta Performing Arts Center.

The Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl is a rigorous reading competition in game format created by former Dekalb County media specialist Helen Ruffin as a way to use books from the Georgia Children’s Book Awards to encourage students to read.  Teams from different schools compete to quiz their knowledge on the selected books.

Today Bowl is open to students in grades four through twelve across the state of Georgia.

This year’s MCS Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Winners include:

1st Place – AL Burruss Elementary

2nd Place – Marietta Center for Advanced Academics (MCAA)

3rd Place – West Side Elementary

The top two teams, A.L. Burruss and MCAA will compete in the regional competition on Saturday, February 9 at the University of West Georgia. The top two winners of the regional competition will advance to the divisional competition, and the winning teams from the divisional bowls will meet at the Annual Conference on Children’s Literature in March to compete in the state finals.

Marietta High School Theater Department Wins 2nd Place in Regional Competition

Anatomy of GrayThe Marietta High School Theatre Department can’t stop winning – bringing home multiple awards this weekend during the Regional One Act Competition and a cash prize for their recent award-winning jingle.

This weekend, the cast of “Anatomy of Gray” competed at the Georgia Regional One Act Competition, winning Best Ensemble, Best Costumes, Best Supporting Actress (Jessica Napier), 2 All-Star Cast members (Calvin Rausch and Katie Lloyd), and 2nd place OVERALL in the Region.

Thanks to an overwhelming amount of support from the community, the Marietta High School’s Theatre Department also recently won third place in the statewide Hope for Jingle Contest.  The department was awarded $1500 based on a combination of their creativity and number of votes cast by the community.
Anatomy of Gray2

Teachers of the Year Recognized by Cobb Chamber During Annual Pep Rally and Breakfast

The Cobb Chamber of Commerce recognized all Marietta Schools and Cobb County Schools educators selected as Teacher of the Year during their annual pep rally and breakfast at Roswell Street Baptist Church, October 23, 2018.

We think this video captures the energy in the room as our hard-working educators were celebrated by their students and peers.



Andrea Langston: MCS Employee of the Month

Andrea Langston is a Special Education teacher at Hickory Hills Elementary and has been with MCS since 2012. When leadership identified the need for a self-contained class for grades 3-5 at Hickory Hills, Andrea developed sensory exercises and activities during her summer break to ensure student success.


Andrea is described by her peers as a quiet, unsung hero who is committed to giving her all to her colleagues and students. She enjoys implementing various strategies and techniques to best assist her students. And while positive and upbeat, she prefers to stand in the background and remain humble about her accomplishments.
Andrea moved to Georgia from Virginia with her husband and children in 2012. Three of her children attend Marietta City Schools. She loves singing, dancing attending church and has a passion for working with the elderly and children.
Congratulations to Andrea Langston, the Marietta City Schools Employee of the Month!

TOTY Hand Prints – Marietta Teacher of the Year Continues Tradition in the Square

Marietta 2nd grade teacher, Kristin Lincoln, surrounded by her students, family, and fellow Sawyer Road Elementary School educators, ‘cemented’ her place in history this week when she added her handprints to the sidewalk on the Marietta Square.

Hosted by the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce at the Earl Strand Theatre, this event is one of three held annually to honor extraordinary teachers who make a difference in the lives of students. “My heart is happiest when I’m in the classroom with my students, collaborating with other educators, or standing in the hallways laughing with my colleagues,” said Lincoln.

A true believer in the importance of social-emotional learning in the classroom, Lincoln shared, “Students must know that they are loved, valued, and accepted. Taking the time to build their trust and respect is where the real value in education begins.” As a teacher, Ms. Lincoln let the audience know that she values her unique position to influence, guide, and encourage students to become lifelong learners.

Ms. Lincoln is in her 15th year of teaching and holds two degrees from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; a Bachelor of Art in Psychology and a master’s degree in Urban and Multicultural Education. Kristin has been with Marietta City Schools since 2002 and at Sawyer Road Elementary since 2005. “When I entered college, I knew I wanted to follow the path to becoming an educator,” Kristin said. She has taught in Marietta City Schools for eleven years and proudly represents her fellow educators around the district.

As an active and supportive member of her community, she has served in various leadership capacities in her church, she loves to travel, and spend time with her daughters Caroline and Sarah Anne.


Brandi Smith, MHS College Coordinator Receives Prestigious Counseling Award

BrandiSmithMarietta City Schools’ College Advisor, Brandi Smith has been selected to receive the The National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) 2018 Excellence in Education Award.
Smith, along with fellow counselors Steve Frappier, Director of College Counseling at Westminster Schools in Atlanta, and Marie Bingham, Director of College Counseling at Isidore Newman School in New Orleans, have been recognized for their social justice and equity work in founding the ACCEPT Facebook group. ACCEPT, stands for Admissions Community Cultivating Equity & Peace Today. The group consists of thousands of college admissions representatives dedicated to promoting social justice and equity.
The Excellence in Education Award is presented to individuals who have improved the field of education and the way students are served.
Previous award recipients include former First Lady Michelle Obama, Sen. Dick Durbin of Illinois, and Tom Joyner. Smith will be recognized at NACAC’s national conference in Salt Lake City later this month.